James & Yan

413344 681375246912 2052165527 o e1574350737155

We had our first date almost 10 years ago in 2008 at the Whitney Museum and got married in early October 2017.

We live in Jackson Heights, an amazingly diverse neighborhood in Queens with our 2 cats Oscar and Roger.

We love living and working in this city and exploring all the cultural activities it has to offer but we also like spending time at home doing quiet activities like reading or cooking together. Yan’s family lives in Massachusetts and we see them every few months and James’ family lives in Florida and we visit twice a year. We didn’t always know if we wanted to have children but the longer we stayed together, the more we knew it was the right choice for us and that adopting was the way we wanted to achieve it.

About James

Job Description
Museum Administrator

Reading, going to museums, cooking

Fun Fact
James loves modern art so much that after leaving his job at MoMA in volunteer services, he became a volunteer.

About Yan

Job Description

Baking, seeing plays, finding unique foods to try in the city.

Fun Fact
Yan emigrated from Ukraine when he was 7 and can speak conversational Russian

Our Lives

Our day-to-day lives are centered around our home, close friends, and cultural/recreational events. We spend the majority of our free time together seeing movies and plays, going to parks and museums around the city or exploring the surrounding area of NY. We also spend a lot of time with our close group of local friends exploring our neighborhoods or just catching up at each other’s apartments. We bought our apartment a few years ago and enjoy making it a home or just relaxing with our cats snuggled on the couch or in our building’s garden with other neighbors/families.

Our Family

We’ve built strong, close relationships with a small group of friends that we consider our family. They are part of our everyday lives. We see them on weeknights or weekend outings and dinners at each other’s homes. Yan’s mother and father, as well as his older brother and his family (wife, 2 kids) live in Massachusetts. We enjoy visiting them a few times a year, but especially in the fall to see the leaves change. James’ mother and longtime partner live in Florida close to his brother’s family. Visiting Florida is a great, warm escape during the NYC winters. 

We have received a lot of wonderful support from our friends and family and they are all excited to embrace this addition to our family. 

Final Thoughts

“Thank you for taking the time to get to know us. Our dream is to provide a loving and fun home for your child and we hope we’ve shown you that. We look forward to meeting you and building our relationship.”

-James and Yan

To learn more , contact our Adoption Team at 212-400-8150 or email us at info@spence-chapin.org.