Thank you for visiting my profile. I’m Tara and I’m a Risk Consultant living in Manhattan for the past 8 years. I come from a large family with an older sister and three younger brothers, as well as nieces and nephews. My mother is from Jamaica and moved to the US to pursue her studies and become a teacher. I was raised in North Carolina in a small town, but I enjoy the city life here in New York. I’m currently single and I have a great group of friends, and strong connections into this community through my work on the board of two local charities. I am looking to become a parent because I believe I can provide a safe home for a child and provide them with a wonderful life, one full of love, adventure, and learning.

I have an active, robust life here in Manhattan, and I have been blessed in so many ways. I have a big family, within a few hours’ drive, so we visit a lot on weekend, and always on holidays. We’re over 20 at holidays and family gatherings now, counting my parents, 2 brothers, 1 sister and their growing families. I have a great job working with electric and gas companies (I’m an engineer). I believe hard work and education opens doors in life. It set me up with a great job and financial security, allowing me to travel and really embrace life.

And I have a great support network in NYC among my friends. When I’m in town, I spend my weekends with my friends doing community garden activities, yoga and cycling, and visiting art galleries and museums.

About Tara

Job Description
Risk Consultant

Travelling, running, & baking!

Fun Fact
This surprises most people,but I am a trained DJ. I started in 2013 when I had a curiosity around learning a new creative skill. I saw some information about DJ classes, and I decided to take lessons. One year later I graduated from an excellent DJ school here in New York and made some great friends. Although I don’t perform, it’s given me a greater appreciation of the craft and the challenges that go into honing that skill.

My Life

I would describe my life as one that is full of love. I have a wonderful family as well as an amazing group of friends who are like family to me. I also spend as much of my life doing things that I love such as travelling, baking, and exercising. These are things I fill my life with often. My favorite place in all of New York is Central Park so I spend as much time there running or walking around admiring its beauty. My brother Stephen and I also enjoy visiting museums and we strive to learn every day.

My Family

My family and I are very close and when we get together, we often reminisce on fun memories and enjoy laughing and playing board and card games together. My close friends are like an extension of my family and their friendship over the years has been a blessing to me in more ways than I could ever count.

Final Thoughts

“Thank you for taking the time to learn a bit about me. You are making possibly the most important decision for your child and the weight of that decision is not lost on me. I hope that you can see that my life is all about love and given the opportunity, I would love your child unconditionally.”


To learn more , contact our Adoption Team at 212-400-8150 or email us at info@spence-chapin.org.